top of page
  • Writer's pictureHeather Mirenzi

learning how to drive in the UK

To be totally honest, the biggest struggle for me living in England has been driving. I didn't even try to drive for the first 10 months I was here. But the time has come for me to learn! We got a second car, one with a backseat and bigger trunk, in March:


the blue car is my girl Octavia, and the red convertible is Ben's ride that he had shipped to the UK from home

I thought the biggest hurdle learning to drive here would just be learning to drive in a manual - when Ben was car shopping, I made it known that I wanted an automatic. They're not common here but they can be found. However, they could only be found way above our price range... so, I am now the reluctantly proud owner of a Ford Mondeo (don't ask me the year, I don't remember things like that). After a few anxiety attacks and frustrated meltdowns about having to re-learn how to drive a car, I am finally getting the hang of it.


I do not like it, but I can do it.

(most of the time)





I'm pretty confident driving around base now, which is convenient since Ben starts work three hours before I do. He parks at his squadron at 7am, then I can drive over to Starbucks and chill with a book and a chai latte until it's time for me to get to work.


Now that I can operate a manual transmission and drive around base, the biggest stressor of driving in England is... driving in England. It is probably the biggest "culture shock" I've experienced here to be honest.


Here is my pros and cons list for driving in the UK:

PROS

CONS

roundabouts

roundabouts

red lights add the yellow for a few seconds before turning green so you know to get ready to shift into first gear! very nice

narrow roads with no lines that are two-way and 60mph also it's raining & there's bicyclist & a muntjac trying to cross

...

feels backwards! driving on the left side of the road, from the right side of the car

...

those curbs come outta nowhere

...

lorries* also come outta nowhere

...

street signs are different

...

there's no where to pull over, not even on major roads

*lorries are semi-trucks, tractor trailers, etc.


found in r/coolguides on reddit dot com

Speaking of different street signs, here's a chart of common ones! Some are similar to US signs, or intuitive in their meaning. Others, not so much...


I also came across a helpful saying, in regards to the shapes of different signs; "rectangles inform, triangles warn, circles give orders" which is quite helpful.


The crossroads sign looks like a warning for single-picket fences, but it's just a smaller road crossing a major road.


The priority over/to oncoming traffic signs are a new concept for me. I see it mostly on roads that get too narrow in parts for two cars to pass each other, or where there's a bridge that is narrower than the road so only one can go over at a time.

"national speed limit applies"

There are also national speed limit signs, which do not have a number displayed on them. They are merely a white circle with a black diagonal line. To me, that looks like a sign saying "no" to something. But it actually means the national speed limit applies! And the national limit is either 30mph or 60mph or 70mph, depending on what type of road you're driving on and what type of vehicle you're operating! So that is super fun and not at all confusing at all!


Backing up to the topic of roundabouts, I see them as a blessing and a curse. The pros to roundabouts are that they keep traffic flowing, so you're not stopped in bumper-to-bumper traffic at a 4-way stop sign intersection where everyone has different ideas about whose turn it is to go next. At rush hour, roundabouts can get a bit backed up, but if there's low or no traffic, you don't even have to come to a stop most of the time.

The cons to roundabouts include trying to merge into the circling bit during moderate to high traffic, especially if you've come to a stop and are in a manual (which of course I am). It feels like trying to time your entrance into double-dutch while your friends are whipping those jump ropes around just a tad faster than you asked them to.


The day I made the most progress driving was a day when we had to take both cars to work in the morning, which obviously meant we each had to drive one to base. I was following Ben in his car, he was driving Octavia (because she was making weird noises and we were going to drop her at the garage later in the day). As we were in the roundabout leaving Bury St. Edmunds, I took the wrong exit and ended up on the highway while Ben was off on the easier route. We were on a voice call through Discord, but I immediately started panicking once we got split up. So over the phone, he was guiding me through the route to work based on the exit I took, while he drove to meet up with me halfway there. I made it to base without incident, and once I calmed down I was able to feel accomplished for making the drive mostly on my own. While it was the most stressful driving experience I've had in years, I must admit that I needed it to give me that push and to feel like "I can do this" finally. In the weeks since, I haven't gotten much more relaxed while driving, but I can do it without crying and dreading it now so, hashtag progress, I guess ;)


So overall, my impression of driving in England? not great. It stresses me out so much, but I'm trying to motivate myself by telling me it will be cool to have the skill of driving a manual. Also, I need to be a strong independent driving woman when Ben gets shipped off in the near future and I have no choice but to drive myself to work on base!


Have you ever driven in another country? Or just had to overcome anxiety about driving in general? Share your experience in a comment!


take care of yourself <3

~heather


if you're enjoying this blog and want to see more of what I do, scroll down to my ko-fi tip jar, or tap the linktree button to find my other online spaces!



driving Ben's car up a narrow driveway to a house near base where I was pet-sitting


21 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


IMG_1363 Small.jpeg

Hi, thanks for dropping by!

If you enjoy this blog and would like to see more of what I do, check out my page on Ko-Fi

there you can send me a tip,

or request an embroidered commission!

bottom of page