top of page
  • Writer's pictureHeather Mirenzi

a Saturday in Cambridge

A few weekends ago, my partner and I ventured out for a day in Cambridge. Overall I had a super fun time - it's a big city but for me it didn't feel as overwhelming as London does, which was nice. We went to a little history center, a larger art museum, and wandered into a few bookstores and craft markets around the city as well.


After driving to the park-n-ride, we took the shuttle bus into the center of the city. I know it's probably mundane for a lot of people but, ugh I just love sitting in the top level of buses! It's a great view, and I don't tend to get motion sick when I'm up higher. Idk how that works, but, anyway...


first stop: The Museum of Cambridge

I definitely thought this museum would be bigger, and more about the city of Cambridge as a whole. It was more of a small historical center, with most of the information and items on display being about the tavern/inn that the building originally was.


That said, it was still very nice, a peek into the past with many interesting antiques. I learned how lace used to be made! (bottom pic) And saw a first-gen refrigerator! I'm not sure what they would have really stored in there, it was even smaller than the mini fridge I had in my college dorm...


This museum was cool though, very vintage aesthetic, complete with creepy dollhouse in a glass case.







second stop: coffee & "window shopping" at a craft market!
Well, we did get one other thing at the market though, this very cute photo!

We stumbled upon a local craft market, with people selling everything from art prints to blown glass miniature figurines. We saw many things we wanted to buy but did not, and had a lengthy chat with the man who makes fountain pens from things like whiskey cask oak, watch parts, and sparkling mica designs in resin. Never before had I seen a $300+ pen and thought "yeah that's a totally reasonable price!" But after browsing the stalls we just got coffee from a food truck and made our way to the next museum.






third stop: The Fitzwilliam Museum

This is a ginormous art museum that reminded me of my favorite museum in Pittsburgh, The Carnegie Museums!!

I loved the Fitzwilliam Museum here, and would 100% go back to it any time - and admission is totally free! I definitely recommend checking it out if you're ever in Cambridge.

Some of my favorite exhibits included the Egyptian and Roman exhibits, obviously, because I love ancient civilizations. Loads of mummies, likenesses of different god(desse)s, examples of their writings, art, jewelry, and everyday tools. One reason I love museums is I get to look at stuff like this without the temptation to buy it (until I step into the gift shop, that is... )


my dudes... I love asparagus and this still life of a bundle of asparagus brought me so much joy

There's also a really cool knight's armor and weaponry exhibit that's first in the museum's layout - see the photo of a knife case that looks like the setup in Knives Out! Additionally, there was an exhibit showcasing ancient pottery with 3D-printed modern "pottery".


I also loved the rooms of Eastern and Southeast Asian art and ceramics. There was a section of Korean pottery, and it made me realize I don't think I'd ever seen a room of Korean art before. It was lovely! (top left of the collage above)


Definitely my favorite place we stopped that day! 20/10 recommend going to this museum if you're ever in Cambridge.



fourth stop: Heffers Bookshop
so many books, so little time!

This bookstore was big, beautiful, and delightfully easy to get lost in. We spent about an hour here, which honestly felt a little rushed...


Ben bought a book to read to me (Hare House, by Sally Hinchcliffe), which is wonderful, and I bought a book of ye olde British myths plus a tattoo coloring book. All excellent purchases! and my phone's camera roll is now full of other books to add to my TBR list...


This store's basement is about half more books and half games - board games, card games, a variety of dice sets, and also some kids toys.






fifth (and final) stop: a Sicilian pizza restaurant that I do not remember the name of and where I took no pictures of the food, I'm sorry

Well folks, take my word for it. The food was good, it wasn't amazing but it definitely hit the spot after a long day of walking around. I've come to really like e̶g̶g̶p̶l̶a̶n̶t̶ aubergine on pizza, which is weird for me but I'm rolling with it. Maybe calling it "aubergine" makes it taste better. Also, putting it on pizza helps too. Ben and I also shared a (generous) piece of pistachio cake which was deeelicious. I see so many more pistachio flavoured things here, especially in Italy or Italian restaurants, it's amazing!


And that was our day in Cambridge!

Museum dates with my love are my favorite, and exploring a major city that was surprisingly not overwhelming! I would definitely like to go into the city again, and highly recommend putting it on your UK travel bucket list. Family and friends, if/when you visit me in England, I will non-negotiably take you to Cambridge for a day! We'll go to the Fitzwilliam Museum, and see if we can't find a better pizza place ;)



What's your favorite museum? Be it local or farther from home! Tell me what and where it is in the comments :)


take care of yourself<3

~heather


if you're enjoying this blog and want to see more of what I do, scroll down to my ko-fi tip jar, or click the link to find my other online spaces!


11 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


IMG_1363 Small.jpeg

Hi, thanks for dropping by!

If you enjoy this blog and would like to see more of what I do, check out my page on Ko-Fi

there you can send me a tip,

or request an embroidered commission!

bottom of page