top of page
  • Writer's pictureHeather Mirenzi

frequent fliers - autistic version

This post is a list of things to consider as you prepare for and embark on airplane travel, as or with an autistic person. Some things will be expanded on in future posts, otherwise this post could become a whole novela ;)


Noise-canceling headphones are a must! I don’t typically wear noise-canceling headphones in daily life, I’m good with Loop earplugs to just dim some of the noise as needed. But, in busy airports and hours on loud planes, noise-canceling headphones saved my sanity. For people who use these daily this should be a no-brainer to pack (in your carry-on! with the charger!), but even if you don’t use them regularly I highly recommend bringing a pair as you travel. Airplane engines are LOUD!

Seabands - used to combat general motion sickness, I always ALWAYS wear these on a flight (sometimes on train rides or long car trips too). They may not be the most stylish bracelets but they keep me from getting dizzy and feeling sick during travel. The bead in the bracelet gets placed over a pressure point in your wrist that relieves motion sickness. I find they work best when I put them on before I start feeling sick. So definitely put them on before boarding the plane!

Keychain stim toy/tool - I attached a plushie sloth keychain to my purse strap, and its soft squishiness is really nice to be able to subtly stim with. I can squeeze it, pet it, and sort of “hold hands” with it too. I definitely recommend having at least one plush or other stim-toy keychain that you can hook onto your carry-on bag’s strap. I’d like to get a more typical type of stim toy in keychain form to use in tandem for another texture option, but soft and fuzzy is my favorite texture so it was still great for me to just have Avery the Sloth on my bag.

two side-by-side photos show noise canceling headphones, a small white purse with a plush sloth keychain on a grey background. Her hand is visible in both photos, wearing the grey sea-bands bracelet, one photo she is holding the sloth and in the other she is making a peace sign.
my noise-canceling headphones, sloth keychain, and sea-bands! my small crossbody purse was just the right size to keep my passport, wallet, phone, and boarding pass easily accessible without fear of dropping anything.

Comfortable outfit - this is a good tip for anyone traveling, but especially as an autistic person with sensory sensitivities related to fabrics. I made sure my travel outfit was all good fabric, and something comfortable to be stuck in for 20-some hours straight.

- For my long overseas flight, I wore loose harem pants and a cute but comfy crop top, and I had a fuzzy snuggie in my carry-on to stim and stay warm with.

- Denim usually drives me nuts, but on shorter flights I would wear my one and only soft/comfy pair with a big soft t-shirt.

- For shoes, I usually wear something comfortable (of course) that’s easy to slip on and off - like boots that zip or sneakers laced loosely - so I can get them off and back on quickly while going through security. Consider also wearing socks with your shoes, so your bare feet aren’t touching the airport floor *shudders*

- Also, always pack a spare comfy outfit (or at least change of undies/socks!) in your carry-on!

Support person - if you are traveling alone, but have a trusted/support person taking you to the airport, ask at the luggage counter when you check your bag if your person can get a pass to go through security with you. Normally a person can’t go through without a boarding pass, but most airports (in the US, at least, depending on accessibility regulations) will give a pass to someone accompanying a traveler with a disability. My mom was able to come through security with me and wait at the gate before I flew overseas by myself. It was fantastic to have her support up until the second I got on the plane!

Plan ahead but be prepared for changing plans - This bit of advice is applicable to all aspects of travel (and also life in general tbh) but especially during the travel days of catching flights and transit to and from the airport! I get very stressed at last minute plan/schedule changes but, being with a partner who is good at adapting to change and reading transit schedules helped me stay relatively chill. My advice is to make sure your travel buddy (or someone in your group) is prepared to make decisions when it comes to travel options changing. It’s also important to have a plan for yourself about what you’ll do if your ride is late or flight delayed (especially if traveling solo). And that plan can include crying or stimming first! Making time to stim or rest before moving on to the next thing is A-okay. Write your plan down or save it in your phone notes so you can easily remember what to do if things don’t all go as planned.

Pack snacks/safe-foods! Just be sure that what you bring is allowed in your carry-on bag. Liquids are limited to how much can be brought in from outside the airport, and things like produce and meats can also be restricted. Safe bets are snack bars, unopened bags of things like candy or chips, or sealed packs of cookies/crackers. Remember that jelly-like foods count as liquids, so things like applesauce or pudding cups might not be allowed through. Check your airline’s website to be certain of what types of foods can and cannot be brought from home! Airports do have places to buy snacks and meals on the other side of security, so you’ll be able to get water bottles and other drinks (and more snacks!) that will be allowed on the plane.


Sensory sensitive rooms - some airports are adding sensory sensitive rooms to their layout! Before you fly, check online to see if the airports you’ll be going through have this available. They aren’t everywhere (yet!) but it seems to be getting more common. The Pittsburgh International Airport in my hometown has a fantastic sensory sensitive room! My next post is going to be about the “Presley’s Place” room at PGH International, so keep an eye out for more info and pictures of my experience there!

Heather, a white woman with purple hair, is wearing a black top and black & yellow elephant-print harem pants. she holds her phone up as she takes a mirror selfie in a sensory room with a purple bubble lamp and blue pod chairs visible beside her.
in my comfy travel fit, relaxing in the sensory sensitive room at PGH airport before my flight to London!

That’s all for today folks! Add a comment if any of these things are helpful to you, or if you’d like me to talk about a certain topic more in-depth in a future post.


Take care of yourself <3

~Heather

43 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


IMG_1363 Small.jpeg

Hi, thanks for dropping by!

If you enjoy this blog and would like to see more of what I do, check out my page on Ko-Fi

there you can send me a tip,

or request an embroidered commission!

bottom of page