top of page
  • Writer's pictureHeather Mirenzi

staying cool in a record-hot summer

I spent half of June in southern Italy.

A week in Spain without A/C.

The rest of the summer, I've been in the south of England, experiencing the record-hot summer temps here.


Don't get me wrong, I have been having a blast this summer - I'm extremely grateful for this opportunity to travel in Europe and live in the UK with the love of my life! The only thing I'd change if I could?


THE HEAT


One sensory struggle that's pretty significant for me is getting too hot. I tend to overheat easily, and can get painfully uncomfortable very fast in a hot environment. This certainly made some days difficult while traveling and site-seeing! Plus, the physical sensation of being sweaty really grosses me out, so that doesn't help...


Below is a list of ways I beat the heat, or at least lessened its impact on me, and some things I would do differently next time!


 

~Tips & Tricks~

  1. take advantage of siesta time! Spain and Italy all but shut down during the hottest part of the afternoon, so you really have nothing to do but take a nap in front of the fan in your hotel room anyway.

  2. a big sun hat is a must-have to add extra protection for your face and shoulders. It took up a bit of space in my suitcase, but I was glad to have it!

  3. wear loose, light clothing that protects your shoulders and arms from the sun.

  4. carry a little fan - battery-powered or a folding one - this helped a lot when standing in line for outdoor sites like the Colosseum, where you don't always get to wait in the shade.

  5. take walks in the morning or evening. the afternoon is an oven...

  6. if you must walk somewhere in the afternoon, you just have extra reason then to get a cold beverage or cup of gelato, as a little treat for going outside ;)


a set of three photos at the Colosseum, in the first, Heather and Ben are leaning against a railing inside the structure smiling in a selfie pose. The other two photos show exterior views of the Colosseum against a sunny blue sky.
The day we went to the Colosseum in Rome was probably the day I struggled most with the heat... but I used my fan, drank lots of water, and found shade when I could. Despite the heat, I really enjoyed seeing the Colosseum!

Next Time:

--> Ortygia: if/when I find myself in the Mediterranean region again, I would definitely plan to go in a cooler season... It's gorgeous in the summer, but obviously that is peak heat, as well as peak tourism.

--> Rome: I would plan more excursions for the evening times, when it's marginally cooler. Also I will add a parasol to the packing list for sure! (or at least an umbrella that isn't black and just absorbing more heat above my head... ). Wearing my beach hat wasn't as practical in the city as it was in a coastal town. I saw many people using parasols or light umbrellas in Rome, but the only place I noticed to buy them were from questionable street vendors so I didn't feel comfortable getting one...

--> Bilbao/in general: double-triple check that the hotels/AirBnBs specifically mention having A/C!! Air conditioning is more common in tourist accommodations than it is residential homes, but it's still not guaranteed. Bilbao is farther north and much cooler than Rome, but the hotel wasn't air conditioned so we were actually hotter being inside than outside, even at night.


 

In general, I've also been taking a lot of breaks to have a sit when walking about outside (on vacation and at home), and have also started taking cool showers for the first time in my life. On hot afternoons and heat-wave days, I forgo afternoon walks and stay indoors, usually sewing or reading while sat in front of the fan. The apartment doesn't have A/C, and the country is currently short on window units, so, many afternoons are spent camped out in front of the beloved oscillating fan. I've named it Freddie (ask me why).


Is it very hot where you live? Have you traveled to any super sunny destinations this summer? Tell me in a comment how you keep cool and stay sane in the heat!


take care of yourself<3

~heather



if you're enjoying this blog and want to see more of what I do, scroll down to my ko-fi tip jar, or click the link to find my other online spaces!



21 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


IMG_1363 Small.jpeg

Hi, thanks for dropping by!

If you enjoy this blog and would like to see more of what I do, check out my page on Ko-Fi

there you can send me a tip,

or request an embroidered commission!

bottom of page